How to Make More Than Someone Earning $70,000/Year

Matt Karamazov
6 min readMay 7, 2021
Image: Envato Elements

It doesn’t make sense at first glance, but a higher salary doesn’t actually mean that you make more money than someone else. I don’t know why you’d want to compare your own singular, idiosyncratic, irreplaceable life with anyone else’s anyway, but if you absolutely must, then we should at least get the math right.

For example, a person making $40,000 per year might actually be making more per hour than someone earning $70,000 per year. How does that work?

Well, two ways.

Both can be so insidious in that, on the surface, you’ll never see these two factors eating away at your wealth, your freedom, your happiness, your sanity, and everything else.

Before we go on, I want you to know that I am not AGAINST money. That’s ridiculous. Money is a fantastic tool that can help you buy your freedom, buy back your time, make other people happy (and yourself, too) — it just does all these incredible things. I love money!

But I also have self-respect. I don’t salivate like a f***ing dog whenever I’m given the chance to run off after more money. I know what’s it good for and what it’s not suited to do, and I’m telling you: you should take a look at the fine print.

Maybe that was harsh. But you’re “worth” more than your net worth. Much more. And…

--

--

Matt Karamazov

🥇 The Most Disciplined Man on the Planet 📚 Read 1,197 Books in Just 10 Years 💪🏻 Strong Believer in Human Potential ⤵️ https://thereadinglife.beehiiv.com/